DPA 4099 Guitar Mic Review for a Flamenco Guitar

IMG_2008

DPA sent the 4099 Guitar Mic for me to audition. It’s a great mic. It’s a side mount clip on with a mini goose neck for placement. It is not a perminat mouted mic. Great for live performances. The mic itself is a super caritiod mic wich allows for signifacant gain without feedback. The mic ataches to the side of the guitar with a very unique clip. See photos below. It also is very easy to use with a wireless system, I will use it with the Sennhizer Wirless system. I’m very glad to be a DPA artist who uses there mics. I tried the mic in my living room using a second generation Trace Elliot RA 50 R amp. I knotched out a bit on the lower freq. Using the 5 band eq. Then just a bit on lower using the notch filter. Great results so far. Look forward to using the mic on live performances. Will write more in the next few weeks. Initial Impression: Awsome Design and Sound.

I think I like it mounted on the top of the guitar that way my hand can go up the neck w/o bumping into the mic. My only concern is if I will capture more of the bass and have a boomyness to the sound. Will post more later.

IMG_1996